Inspiration and other things

So, it’s been weeks since I last posted anything.

Why is that? I hear you ask?

Well, quite frankly, I’ve had a dearth in writing. I’ve not wanted to mainly. For various reasons, all stemming from a massive amount of stress from my job (not writing related).

To be honest, at this moment in time, I still don’t. I have written a few poetic lines, and in fact finished typing/revising a short story. I’ve sent this to a writerly mate for a look-see and help with voice. I’ve a few ideas as to what to do with it after this, but I’ll keep these under wraps until later on in the year.

I’m even thinking of reviewing some material I wrote a while back for children. I just need to find someone to illustrate for free (or maybe a big bar of chocolate)!

 

So why write a post?

Thanks goes to this quarter’s Mslexia and the article

The curse of the disappearing floor
Scarlett Thomas’ worst mistakes

Well, today I got the new Mslexia magazine (www.mslexia.co.uk) and after a quick read through (I’ll spend the next 3 months having a longer read!) I’ve realised a big thing. I need to chuck/delete/burn the “novel” I’ve been trying to work on. It’s stuck. I’m stuck. I need to look at something new, fresh. I’ve said this before, but not done anything about it. That story is still on my PC, notes are in a drawer etc. This weekend (I really have no time to do it before) I will physically throw this thing out.

Leave a Reply

