Nearing the end…and editing besides

In my last post, I said editing would have to wait – and it did. For about three weeks.

Then I had a sudden urge to edit, chop, rewrite, find, lose (and find again). I concentrated on one poem at a time and carefully combed through each line, weighing up the pros and cons, chopping bits & pieces here and there, rewriting, and, on a couple of occasions, writing a poem entirely different from the original.

Throughout the course, I have pondered whether or not I should submit my work for assessment. If you asked me back in November, I would have said yes, I would.

Now though, it is a resounding no.

My QCF apprenticeship (as discussed in December’s reflection) is requiring more from me than I anticipated – much of this is due to the fact I started it 3 months earlier than expected!

I am barely able to make time to write a short essay for the QCF assessors, let alone provide enough work (raw and polished) for the poetry assessors! So, sadly, I will not be entering my work for formal assessment.

All I need to do now is collate everything, show my “workings out” (as my old teachers would say) and send it off!

Leave a Reply

