Pruning like a tree (or plastic) surgeon

I’ve just received my feedback from assignment 3 and feel really encouraged by it. I am finally gathering the tools and critical techniques to become a “proper” poet.

Recently time has been my biggest enemy, and having the feedback today has confirmed some of the niggling thoughts I had as I submitted the assignment, that I wasn’t able to tackle beforehand.

Lines can now be rewritten and each piece subjected to interrogation about detail and explanation and will be reworked where needed.

I also need to chop out some lines – I knew I would need to – and that’s going to be harder in some areas than others.

Leave a Reply

